top of page





The seventh FE season was the first edition of the series to be classified as an FIA World Championship, and feature the same mix of manufacturers, including Mercedes-Benz, Porsche and BMW, from the 2019/20 season. Two year powertrain homologation was introduced in order to reduce costs in the wake of the pandemic. Audi and BMW announced that this would be their last seasons as manufacturers present in the championship.

With the pandemic being ever-present, the calendar shifted with every circuit that the championship visited, excluding Monaco, hosted two races. De Vries started the season with a win in Diriyah Race 1, while Sam Bird continued his streak of winning a race each season with a win in Race 2 in Saudi Arabia. Jean-Eric Vergne and Stoffel Vandoorne won a race each in Rome. Energy-conserving races in Valencia, saw a lot of lead changes and competitive racing, with De Vries scoring his second win of the season in Race 1, while Jake Dennis won in Race 2.

Reigning Champion, Antonio Felix da Costa managed to get his DS Techeetah car to the checkered flag first in one of the best races in Formula E history, which was driven in Monaco. The American Tour saw Di Grassi and Mortara win in Mexico, while Guenther and Bird won a race each in USA.



With two double-race weekends left, and more than ten drivers in the contention for the title, Jake Dennis placed himself as a prominent contender after he won in London, with Alex Lynn scoring the win in the second race on the new Formula E circuit in the British capital.


Di Grassi and Norman Nato won in Berlin, with Mortara and Dennis not being able to captialize on De Vries' low qualifying result, and the Mercedes youngster won the title, ahead of the Venturi and BMW racer. Mercedes won the manufacturers championship as well, with an announcement that they are withdrawing as a manufacturer after season 8, but that their team will be looking to continue competing in the FIA's Electric Open-Wheel championship.

bottom of page