PHOTO: formula e media



Lights to flag win: Dennis is the 19th different Formula E winner

First win for BMW i Andretti Motorsport this year, while none of the top 6 drivers in the standings score points.

BMW i Andretti Motorsport's racer, Jake Dennis was the one who was fastest in Super Pole to score his first Formula E pole position, and he started the race ahead of Mahindra's Alex Lynn and the NIO 333 driver pair - Tom Blomqvist and Oliver Turvey, while Porsche racer Andre Lotterer was penalised and started from fifth instead of second on the grid.

The NIO Teammate duel was won by Turvey who got to 3rd position, while Venturi's Norman Nato got to fourth place after starting sixth. Lotterer fell down to seventh after losing positions to Nato and Vergne on the opening lap.

The race itself turned to into a train of cars following Dennis and replicating his line, and the only changes that happened in the first couple of laps was that Vergne got past Blomqvist and Dragon Penske of Sette Camara passed the Nissan e.dams of Buemi.

Attack mode game started and some drivers used both their activations before the final third of the race, while Nato had a contact with Lynn, which saw British driver fall down to sixth place, while the Venturi driver inherited second place. 

Audi racer Rene Rast drove really good to get into the top 3, and on lap 21 he lost the position to Lotterer who moved up to 3rd place. In lap 20, Buemi was tangled up in a duel with Vandoorne which saw the Mercedes driver hit the tyre barrier and had to retire.

Nato got a five second time penalty for causing a colission with Lynn, who passed the Nissan of Rowland to get into 4th place. Lynn used his good pace to get up to 4th place by passing Rene Rast, and still had enough energy to keep up with the leaders. It was not long before Rast lost another position, and Rowland got up to fifth.

Dennis crossed the finish line first, with Lotterer and Lynn on the podium after Nato's penalty being applied. British driver also got points for the fastest lap. Rowland was fourth with Rast and Vergne behind Nato. Turvey Venturi of Mortara and the second Audi of Di Grassi completed the top 10.

Even though none of them scored points, the top 5 remain in their positions in the standings, with Rast moving to 6th position in the Championship. Formula E racing will be back on May 8th in Monaco.